Mid-summer Notes

Well, my friend Cliff has persistently and incessantly nagged me about my lack of postings. Boy, is he a squeaky wheel. I guess I should be nice to him – he’s brought me several lunches, as well as the company of his lovely wife Martha and our mutual friend Bob (the quintessential Yankee curmudgeon).

My leg continues to dictate the agenda of my life and the scope of my horizon. I’m apparently conquering my anemia (who knew? I’ve never been anemic before), and I’m feeling more energetic.  I’d attributed my fatigue to depression, boredom, thyroid problems… none of which seems to be a factor.

The leg saga will continue for several more months, so I’m trying to pace myself in terms of patience, forbearance, wit. Even my primary care doctor of 25 years has been impressed with the longevity of this recuperation. Dubious achievement, indeed.

The huge sunshine factor in 2009 is the arrival of my grandson Tommy. Although I was looking forward to being a grandmother, I had no idea how much I would relish this new role. Life continues to deliver surprises.

4 comments so far

  1. C R Krieger on

    At last!

    I was beginning to give up hope.  But, here it is.  The next thing we should be seeing are pictures (or should that be “is pictures) of Tommy.  I am a little concerned about naming a child after the Mumbles of Boston, but still, a health child is a joy.

    Gee, the third paragraph is almost like it is out of Scripture Saint Paul and all that.  But, patience is a noble virtue.

    Regards  —  Cliff

  2. Ron Smits on

    I concur with Cliff — it is great to hear from you. As far as Cliff’s attempts to be grammatically correct, I just like to point out that while ambivalent about the “are” vs “is”, I am quite sure about “healthy child” vs “health child”

    Fran — Congrats, van harte beterschap, and hope to see you soon back on your feet!! And read more posts………from you.

  3. Neal Crossland on

    Yahoo, and I’m not referring to the internet provider. Good to read your special wit and hear of your recovery, albeit long and arduous. The desired end state is all that matters my dear friend.

    In an effort to commiserate with your situation, I too have discovered the vague consequences of “anemia” and the puzzled mumblings of my primary care doc. She is first rate, but when it comes to these “pedestrian” conditions, I might as well be running around a church three times without thinking of a fox (which by the way has its origins in Salem, MA, but for the cure of a toothache…I figure it’s transposable.). She has mandated daily doses of vitamin D, no matter how much sun I receive. I don’t suppose it matters that I am still trying to coax this 66 year old body back to some semblence of physical dexterity and joie de vie. Being slammed from behind by a texting twit driving a Chevy Tahoe at 45 mph is not a prescription for a long, leisurely summer.

    Ah, the joys of grandparenting. How wonderful for you!! Having three of the darlings right across the street, I can promise that they will not only snatch your very heart and soul from within you and forever hold it prisoner to their whims, but they will likely dominate all life activities going forward. And, unlike Obamaism, you will surrender to this irresistable force willingly, laughingly, lovingly.

    Please share pictures at your earliest convenience.

    By the way Fran, I have chosen NOT to share your blog with your good buddy from Orlando, the vitriolic and bombastic Stevie Broussard. It seemed the civil……..and sympathetic….thing to do.

    Be Well…

    Neal

    • fransansalone on

      Good to hear from you, Neal. Cliff told me about your unfortunate incident. What a year!

      And thanks for keeping silent to that person in Florida.


Leave a Reply

